Uber Will Now Put an 'Authorisation Hold' on Card Before Your Trip Begins

Advertisement
By Sumit Chakraborty | Updated: 10 April 2018 19:19 IST
Highlights
  • Uber will hold your upfront payment at the start of a trip
  • It will show up as pending charge till the completion of the trip
  • This helps confirm that a user's account is active or has enough funds

Uber has started to roll out a payment authorisation hold feature that will enable the company to hold a user's upfront fare amount ahead of a trip. The cab-hailing company will essentially authorise your non-cash payment (credit and debit cards) method for every trip requested, to the amount of the upfront fare. The move, according to Uber, will help in confirming that users' accounts are active and available to fund their trips.

Update, April 10: An Uber spokesperson has reached out to Gadgets 360 to clarify that this will not happen in India, and the update was posted to the Uber India blog in error.

Advertisement

The hold-authorisation feature works in four steps. When you request a trip with Uber, an authorisation hold is placed on your card, amounting to the upfront fare. Once you complete the trip, the pending payment is converted to a final charge, and your account is debited.

Notably, the payment authorisation hold feature allows the company to authorise hold a user's upfront fare amount only before the trip begins. This temporary authorisation hold will show up as a pending charge on the user's account. Further, depending on the bank, user's will get a message for the same. It is just a pending charge which is converted to a full charge only after the trip is completed. You can also check your bank account statements to verify that the final charge is correct, Uber noted.

Uber further noted that if the account balance of your credit or debit card linked to your account is lower than the fare estimate, the authorisation hold will fail. If it happens, you will have to select a different payment method or add a new payment method to your Uber account in order to request a ride. Also, if you cancel a ride, Uber will void the authorisation immediately.

Affiliate links may be automatically generated - see our ethics statement for details.
 

Get your daily dose of tech news, reviews, and insights, in under 80 characters on Gadgets 360 Turbo. Connect with fellow tech lovers on our Forum. Follow us on X, Facebook, WhatsApp, Threads and Google News for instant updates. Catch all the action on our YouTube channel.

Advertisement

Related Stories

Popular Mobile Brands
  1. Best Smartphones Under Rs. 45,000 with Snapdragon Processor
  1. Amazon Great Indian Festival 2026: Best Deals on All Haier Products Like Refrigerators, Washing Machines and Geysers
  2. Amazon Great Indian Festival 2026: Gaming Headset Deals Under Rs. 5,000
  3. Amazon Great Indian Festival 2026 Sale: Best Gaming Monitors Under Rs. 20,000
  4. Amazon Great Indian Festival 2026: Best Power Bank Deals
  5. Visa Enables Round-the-Clock USDC Funding for Global Payments
  6. OpenAI AI Model Used Another Wallet’s Ethereum Testnet Funds Without Authorisation, Report Says
  7. Samsung Galaxy SmartTag 3 India Launch Timeline Confirmed by Company Executive
  8. CERT-in Issues Critical Warning After AI Agents Broke Into Indian Organisations' Live Systems
  9. Microsoft Announces $50 Xbox Nano Controller, Launch Set for Next Month
  10. Samsung Galaxy A38 5G Rear Camera Specifications Leaked; May Feature Same Sensors as Galaxy A37
Download Our Apps
Available in Hindi
© Copyright Red Pixels Ventures Limited 2026. All rights reserved.