Google's new user-based endorsement ads: How to opt-out

Advertisement
By Anupam Saxena | Updated: 14 October 2013 12:27 IST
Google has announced its plans to launch new product-endorsement ads featuring photos, comments and names of its users, with an intent to make ads more social and personalised.
 
Google's new terms of service go live on November 11, allowing Google to utilize users' name, photo and product reviews posted through Google+, Google's social network, in ads that it sells to businesses. This means that reviews of restaurants, shops and products, as well as songs and other content bought on the Google Play store could show up in ads that are displayed to the users' friends and connections when they search on Google along with their image.
 
Privacy advocates as well as users of Google services are worried about this change, more so because it's the default option unless a user opts out.
 
To simplify the process of opting-out, we've broken it down for you. Here's how you can opt out of sharing your information in endorsement-ads:
 
You can simply click on the bell shaped Notifications icon on the top right corner of any Google service page and see a prompt for 'New Terms of Service'. Then click on 'Learn More' and you'll get a page that offers all the details about the changes in addition to a link to the Shared Endorsement setting.
 
Clicking on the Endorsement setting link will open up a page which will feature a checkbox that says 'Based on my activity, Google may show my name and profile photo in shared endorsements that appear in ads.' You can just uncheck it and click on the Save button to opt out of the new program.
 
You can also go directly to the Endorsement setting page by pointing your browser to http://plus.google.com/settings/endorsements.

Google clarifies that it will not display names and profiles of users under the age of 18 with shared endorsements in ads and certain other places, though these users will see shared endorsements from others in ads.
 
It's worth pointing out that changing this setting does not impact how the users' name and photo might look in a shared endorsement that is not in an ad. For instance if you +1 an app, your profile name and picture would still appear in that app's listing page.

With agency inputs

Get your daily dose of tech news, reviews, and insights, in under 80 characters on Gadgets 360 Turbo. Connect with fellow tech lovers on our Forum. Follow us on X, Facebook, WhatsApp, Threads and Google News for instant updates. Catch all the action on our YouTube channel.

Advertisement

Related Stories

Popular Mobile Brands
  1. OnePlus 16 Software Testing Reportedly Begins; Could Launch In India Soon
  2. Airtel Launches Three Voice-and-SMS-Only Prepaid Recharge Plans
  3. iQOO Neo 12 Launch Date, Colour Options Revealed
  4. Poco X8s Gets Listed on Another Certification Website
  1. Cysic Shuts Down Bridge After Attacker Illegally Creates 10 Million CYS Tokens
  2. JPM Coin Arrives on Ethereum as JPMorgan Expands Institutional Payments
  3. Vivo V80 FE Reportedly Spotted on BIS Certification Website, India Launch Seems Imminent
  4. Airtel’s New Recharges in India Announced: Rs. 185, Rs. 203 and Rs. 206 Voice-Only Plans Details
  5. Vivo X500 Ultra Leak Reveals Launch Timeline, Chipset, Display and Key Specifications
  6. iQOO Neo 12 Launch Date Announced; Design, Colour Options Teased
  7. Qubic Halts Chain as Attacker Exploits Weak Seeds to Drain 1,400 Wallets
  8. iPhone Duo Battery Capacity Revealed Days Before Foldable Goes on Sale
  9. Poco X8s Gets Listed on Another Certification Website, Hinting at Imminent Launch
  10. Redmi Pad 3 Spotted on Multiple Certification Sites Ahead of Launch; Key Specifications Revealed
Download Our Apps
Available in Hindi
© Copyright Red Pixels Ventures Limited 2026. All rights reserved.